First ever pond - plant question

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All,

My first post.

I have lots of experience with freshwater and marine aquariums and fancy having a go at my first pond. Thinking of a 1 meter length pre-formed and a small waterfall/filter box.

I was wondering if this would be a bad time to start a new pond though, in terms of what plants will be available this time of year. Are there any plants that I could grow during autumn / winter or is that a time where pond plants die off ?

I live in south wales so obviously gets quite cold, and looking at a spot which should get a few hours direct sunlight in the winter but not sure during the winter.

Thanks,
Dave

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Welcome to the forum!

It is never a bad time to start your pond, I would not put fish in until the spring so it has time to cycle etc. I started my bog late fall, bought what plants I could find and in the spring they took off.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Welcome Dave! Agree with @addy1, start as soon as you can with hardy (no tropical) plants. Look for hardy water lilies. The only condition is making sure your pond does not freeze solid. Surface ice is fine but if the entire pond freezes completely your plants will most likely fail. How deep is your pond and how many gallons? Please feel free to ask questions about you future pond. We are here to help!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks both for the welcome. I was thinking about a small preformed pond just to start me off, as I have a small area by my decking which is flat - hopefully I'll get hooked then move onto a much larger one in the middle of the lawn later.

The ones that are 1 meter long all look to be 30cm deep and hold around 140 litres.

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States