First Pond First Winter

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
Hi All,
I live in Long Island, NY and I am in the border of 7a & 7b. I have goldfish in my pond and at the deepest part, its about 24 inches (2ft) deep.

1) When should I slow down the feeding/stop feeding the fish? Right now the temps have dropped so during the day its in the mid 70's and at night in the low 60's
2) Should I switch their diets to a more winter friendly diet? I feed them regular tetra pond sticks
3) Should I leave my waterfall on or do you recommend completely turning it off for the winter?
4) Any thoughts on air pumps or aerations?
5) Any additional advise you have, would be welcomed!

TheFishGuy

( Insert something funny )
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
4b or 5a
Country
United States
1) I am no expert in feeding, as I only feed my fish about once a week anyway, so I just stop feeding mid fall. but I am sure others would have better advice on that kinda stuff.

2) I dont switch diets, but again, others will have better advice than me on that.

3) I turn my waterfall off, but some like to leave it on, because they can make some pretty cool ice sculptures and such, if you have an external pump that is not in and insulated area, definitely turn it off, but other than that it is really up to you :)

4)During the winter I have a pump at the bottom to provide some surface agitation to keep a hole in the ice, but many different people will have lots of different advice on that, not much of it is wrong or right, just a different way to do things.

I keep a deicer on, but I am in zone 4b so a bit colder than you. many people just keep something like that hand just in case it does get cold, and then they can turn it on :)

Jhn

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7b
Country
United States