First time ponder- feedback and suggestions welcome!

Reaction score
Hello everyone!

I'm an avid aquarist and have kept aquariums since I was a child, but this is my very first time building a pond, or dealing with volumes of water larger than my 90gal tank! lol

I've been doing quite a bit of homework before my shovel ever even hits the dirt, though, and here's my plan so far- feedback and suggestions are definitely welcome!

The plan is a 400gal pond, about 5' x 7' oval, 3' deep in the middle, with a plant ledge running all around the edge. I want to heavily plant it out (I live in SW Florida so plan to over-winter fish and plants in the pond) and am considering sticking with native plants and fish. That stocking plan may change down the road, but I definitely will not be stocking koi and probably no goldfish either. Here's the site for the pond- tucked underneath this bay window (that's my home office)
IMG_4173.jpg

Here's the things I know for sure:

I'll be digging this pond out by hand, lining it with a 45mil EPDM liner with an underlayment, and a building in a bottom drain (probably a 3" Koi Toilet with a strainer/grate on top). I want a small waterfall in the back right corner, and will probably use one of those biofilter waterfalls (looking at the Laguna and Atlantic ones). The fall won't be tall, though- 12-24" high at most. I plan on using 1.5" to 2" flex tubing for plumbing since I'm working in such a tight space and will have lots of corners to get around. I want to use an external pump, and am thinking around 2000gph would be good turnover for this size pond??