Fish congregating by waterfall

Reaction score
When I bought my house last year it came with a small garden pond well-stocked (in fact probably a bit overstocked) with fish - some quite large carp, goldfish, one or two koi. It has a series of small upper ponds and the water circulates in that way. We had the pond cleaned last summer and have regularly cleaned the filter, etc and it has seemed to be OK. The odd fish dies from time to time but overall no apparent epidemics etc. However we've noticed recently that the fish all seem to be lined up with their noses by the small waterfall which discharges into their pond. Is this a sign of something wrong? Lack of oxygen? We are complete beginners.

Meyer Jordan

Tadpole
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
When I bought my house last year it came with a small garden pond well-stocked (in fact probably a bit overstocked) with fish - some quite large carp, goldfish, one or two koi. It has a series of small upper ponds and the water circulates in that way. We had the pond cleaned last summer and have regularly cleaned the filter, etc and it has seemed to be OK. The odd fish dies from time to time but overall no apparent epidemics etc. However we've noticed recently that the fish all seem to be lined up with their noses by the small waterfall which discharges into their pond. Is this a sign of something wrong? Lack of oxygen? We are complete beginners.

How many fish are there? What is the approximate total surface area of all of the upper and lower ponds?
Although it could be an indication of a low Dissolved Oxygen level, it is more likely the fact that the because the fish just have a natural affinity for moving water, they are attracted to the waterfall which provides this movement.

Reaction score
How many fish are there? What is the approximate total surface area of all of the upper and lower ponds?