Fish Died

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
I've had the thousand gallon pond for about six months now (existing pond with the house I bought.) There were initially eight goldfish in the pond, now the number is up to about seventeen. They all seem to be doing well. The water is well filtered and aerated, and the chemistry is excellent.

So yesterday morning I noticed one of the smaller fish not swimming upright in the water and appearing to be gasping for air. By the afternoon, it was on its side, dead. No signs of anything that would cause this. The rest of the fish are doing fine. I rechecked the water chemistry and it is fine. Nothing else out of the ordinary.

I'm a bit new to this, and I just wondered what happened. Does this just happen occasionally? Any ideas?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
Sorry to hear about your fish.

There are many reasons this can happen. You need to give more information for anyone to begin to diagnose what might have happened. Even then we may never know.

What did the dead fish look like? Any scars, abrasions? Did it's scales look normal or were they pineconing? Was the fish bloated? How big was this fish? How long have you had this fish? Do you know it's age? Do the rest of the fish seem to be unaffected? Could a predator have visited the pond and injured the fish?

How are you checking the water chemistry, what tests are you performing and what are the exact figures? The liquid tests kits are far superior to the ones that use test strips.

Describe your filtration and aeration. Are they running 24/7?

Do you have any plants in your pond? Plants are an important part of the ecosystem.