Fish getting worse after treatment

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Hello everyone, sorry if this is not the proper Forum for this thread

I've had this koi pond for years but only recently I started learning about water quality, and proper fish keeping (not to mention I managed to kill all my fish not once but TWICE, over the years, due to my ignorance), so I consider myself a newbie :)

A few days ago some of my older koi started showing signs of parasites, so last evening I treated the water with Aqua Prazi but today all the fish are acting up, even those that were fine last night!
This is the first time I use Aqua Prazi, is this normal behavior after a treatment? How long does it take for a product to show results?
I had just bought a few babies and treated the water with Melafix for 3 days. I did a 30% (approximately) water change before adding the Aqua Prazi

I live in zone 5
my pond is between 1500 and 2000gl
Ammonia 0
Nitrite 0
PH 9.0

Should I change more water or should I just wait and see?

Thank you!

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
To start no fish when new should ever be added to your pond they should be kept in a holding tank until you are sure they are healthy .I would do a water change .You don't say the size of the pond or the size of the fish and how many and how many gallons your pond is .Are you on city water or well water .What is the temp. of your pond .You may have added to many kinds of meds. to your pond .Do you have aeration and what kind of filter do you have .Pics would help also .

Reaction score
Country
United States
Welcome to the forum :)

When you say your fish were showing signs of parasites what exactly were they doing? And what do you mean by the fish acting up?

Last edited:
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6 A
Country
United States
Gemma, Welcome to the forum, although I'm sorry for the circumstances.