Fish hiding in newly acquired pond; concerned for its health

Reaction score
Hi Folks,

Total newbie to pond keeping and this forum!

We've just moved into a rental property with a slightly neglected pond at the end of the garden. I think the place was empty for about a month before we moved in, and the filter had not been on and the fish not fed. So we're trying to get it back on its feet (fins?) but also don't know a lot about what we're doing!

In the first few weeks since we moved in we turned the pump on and started feeding the fish and adding some all-purpose medication. Unfortunately we still lost two of the fish, both of whom were swimming funny for sometime before they went.

Overall the water was really murky and dirty, so last weekend I did a massive clean-up and water change. I pumped all but the last inch or so of water out, dredged as much of the detritus and gunk from the bottom as I could, pressure washed all the algae off, and re-filled with tap water. I added water treatment, medication and green-water treatment (to deal with any algae still left at the bottom).

Before we did this, though, we noticed one of our fish was "missing", and it wasn't until we had pumped a lot of the water out that we were able to find it hiding in the mulch at the bottom of the pond. I transferred it to a holding pen, and it seemed to liven up, but now we've put it back in to the pond it has disappeared again.

I read on one forum that water changes can be stressful, and might cause hiding, but this particular fish was hiding before the water treatment too. The rest of the fish are totally fine - clearly mating season is in, and they are chasing each other all over the place!

Any ideas what might be up, or what I should do about this fish? I'm concerned that it may be ill and/or dying and we won't see it again until the next water change.

Thanks for any tips!

Richard

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5a