Fish Safe Plants

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi all. I'm a pond newbie. I've been slowly adding plants..but after seeing something online I'm concerned about the plants being unsafe for my fish. Can anyone tell me if the following are dangerous to my koi and goldfish?

These are all marginal plants on pond shelf.
Sweet Flag
Horsetail
Water clover (these look like 4 leaf clover)
Water iris
Water poppy
Taro
Hosta
Cattail

And floating water hiacynth

Thanks in advance for any help. I've been chasing leads on the internet for hours and I am no closer to an answer than when I started.

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
I have had all of those plants and fish, except the water poppy. Your fish will be fine.

Welcome to our forum!

Reaction score
Country
United States
Thank you! That is such a relief. I've found that I've quickly grow quite attached to our little fish family.

We also have a dwarf Japanese red maple nearby. Other than a lot of cleaning during leaf drop are the leaves poisonous to the fish?

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Not from maples, I have had a lot of leaves drop into my pond from our big maple and maple seeds.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
We've had this topic come up from time to time - someone will post a list of all the plants that are supposedly poisonous to fish and basically it's all of them! When in reality we've all had just about every plant you can think of around or near or even in the pond at some time or another with no harm to any fish. I don't know who or how they come up with these lists!

Reaction score
Country
United States