Fish slowly dying off, help!

Reaction score
Hi all,

I am from the UK and have a pond that's roughly 4,100 litres that houses about 25 small goldfish. The filter, UV and pump and all fine and the pond water is nice and clean - I had it tested last week and was told it was fine, but for some reason I've had 3 fish die over as many weeks and I'm not sure why.

It's always the same - I notice one fish getting lethargic and staying close to the edge of the pond for a few days, then find it floating, almost dead. I cannot see any suspicious markings on them but presume this must be due to diease.

My questions is; is there a 'generic' pond treatment set that cover all of the most likely problems that I may be having? I'm still learning so am not sure what to do! I don't actually know the age of the fish as they were donated to me by the previous owners of the house, but surely three dying in such quick succession is a tad suspicious?

Many thanks,

James

IMG_5285.JPG

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
I would check my pump also could they be getting a shock from it .They just told you the water was fine thats it no printout nothing .I get a printout that says what each test is they run and what the test numbers are .Is that ivy trailing into your pond .I know some ivy is poisonous

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
have you checked the bottom of your pond for gunk that could be sucking the air out of the water .I see you have no water movement either as that creates oxygen a fountain head would help or an aerator ,do you filter the water and do at least 10% water changes .Plants use up some of the oxygen besides giving it off .Is you water city or well .

Reaction score
Thanks for the reply Sissy - I will try my best to answer: