Fish transport & temporary housing

Reaction score
Hi there,

I have a friend that is giving me his dads pond setup including about 30 fish. I have been keeping saltwater aquariums for about 10 years so I'm no rookie to transporting livestock. That said I have a few basic questions. Any comments/advice is appreciated.

1. What temp should the fish stay it?
2. Can I house the fish in a temporary 8'x8' container made from 2x4's and a blue plastic tarp?I'm thinking of adding in an air hose and setting up the filters in my garage for the summer while I build the pond. Would this suffice?
3. Anything I should worry about re water quality? (buffers, de-chlorinators, RO water)
4. Are there basic water parameters I should maintain?

Thanks in advance!
Ryan

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
welcomewagon-15.gif
to our group

1) what kind of fish? temps from 60-85 would be ok
2) air and a good filter you should be fine
3) yep dechlor, test the water with a test kit, do water changes
4) follow the test kit, keep ammonia down etc

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
what size fish would help also and maybe a kiddy swimming pool as long as you put a net on top of it and keep it out of the sun .Stock tank also would work and come in handy for them in the future .Boston is cooler but sure by how much right now

Reaction score
Same basic answers as aquariums. Have to know the kinds and sizes of fish first to know the answers.

Assuming Goldfish and small Koi...
1. What temp should the fish stay it?
During transport the same as for aquariums, as close to source and destination as possible. Same for pH. Once in the pond the range is say 39-85F. They can survive 32-39F and 85-100F for short periods. 70-75F would be optimal.