Flashing

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
I am new to koi ponds and i have had the pond for just over a week. I have a decent pump, filter, heater and air pump. I have around 14 kois and i have noticed a lot of flashing. My ph balance is 7.5 to 7.8. I haven't tested any others but i am getting a test kit tommorw. I didnt filter the water so i think it has chlorine and possibly metals. How would i go about measuring these? I also had a mirror carp with fungus on his mouth so i had one dose of anti bacteria in the pond today. Please can anyone advice me what is the best solution or should i empty the water and uae a filteration to ensure chlorine etc isnt a factor?

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
You just built the pond or moved into a house with a pond? How big is the pond?

Welcome to our forum.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Pond has been built about 10 years ago but only recently cleaned everything and restarted the process of filling the pond although i didn't use a filtration

My pond is approx 9000 litres

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Pond has been built about 10 years ago but only recently cleaned everything and restarted the process of filling the pond although i didn't a filtration

My pond is approx 9000 litres
I built the pond and restarted a week ago

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
@Simonp399
If you put new water in that has chlorine in it and you did not add de-chlorinator to the new water your fish could suffer ill effects and even die. Hope you put that in when you filled. Did you fill w/all new water? That would be a shock to the fish also.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom