Floundering Water Hyacinths

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
Hi. I am new to ponding, and this is my first season. I bought 4 water hyacinths early in the year (May). They did beautifully for months. They were big and green. They multiplied like crazy (I now have a dozen or more!) and were looking to start covering my massive pond nicely at that rate. But the last couple of weeks they have started to flounder. The ones I see now are all small, none are reproducing, at least half of each plant is brown and dying. One did just flower, but they look so sad and brown. They're obviously not doing well anymore. But I'm not sure why. Is it normal for them to slow down or start dying off this time of year? Or should they be flourishing well into the fall?

I should add that my cat tails (planted in June) are also partly yellowing and not seeming to thrive. It makes me wonder if it's something in the water? The lilies are doing fine. They do get yellow leaves that I cut off, but they always produce more and are flowering, so I'm not worried about them. I've tried pruning the dead hyacinth leaves and bulbs. It doesn't seem to help, and maybe hurts because then they tip sideways and are submersed on one side.

The fish are also thriving. And they don't seem to be eating the roots. (2 koi 6 " and 11 goldfish 3-4")

Just tested water levels for the first time, and pH is high (9) while everything else looks zero to .25 (colors are hard to decypher).

(Other info: Pond is 3500 gallons, Full sun during 10am-7pm hrs. Has a filter, aerator stones, large waterfall. I have had to put in a bit of algaecide now and then and also add de-foamer when the water gets really bubbly. Bacteria are added monthly.)

Anyone have any thoughts on what my hyacinths need to grow big and green again?

hyacinth.jpg

hyacinths(2).jpg

Attachments

• hyacinths.jpg
    hyacinths.jpg
    20.4 KB · Views: 297

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States