From cloudy to clear?

Reaction score
Hello,
I hope by joining the forum you might be able to share a few pearls of wisdom!
I am new to the garden pond thing and didn't realise what I was getting into!
I now have a pond fully lined and raring to go.
Yesterday I installed an Oasis50 filter and a Lotus Olympus pump 6500 hoping to see a nice clear pond but alas the next day it doesn't look much different.
The cloudiness I think is probably due to residue clay left at the bottom of the liner after reinstalling because I hadn't thought to dig a ledge around the edge for the rocks.
Am I expecting too much from the filter and will I have to empty the pond again and thoroughly clean the liner before filling with fresh water? (i'm hoping not)!
Or does it simply take days/weeks before clarity occurs?
Cheers

Reaction score
hi paul, i was new to this 6 months ago and went through all the same thaughts as you are now, when you say you didnt leave a ledge for the edge rocks, do you mean you have soil/turf right to the edge ? if so you will prob have run off problems for quite a while every time it rains ! it would be worth you re-digging a ledge and edging the pond with rocks properly to help this, the murky water prob is suspended clay/soil particles in the water, these will settle in time however you can speed up the process by adding a coagulant, i used this one and i was very impressed with the results :
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/BLAGDON-CLEAR...Features_UK&hash=item23115aeae9#ht_1169wt_698