From Green Sludge to beyond...

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
zone 8a/b
Country
Germany
Just starting this now, for providence, so I can record progress....

I have only been living in the new house, with the inherited green puddle of doom for a week, and have become obsessed with the pond - checking it several times per day, fussing over it, in the non directional confused state of a total novice!!

Hoping in time, it will become a lagoon of love for the fish-fingers that currently inhabit it, and all the flies and newts too.

In years, I will deepen it, and perhaps change the water fall, making it a bit taller, putting in a better pump, and so on.

But now, my focus is on sorting out the chemical balances and fighting the copious Algae.... but without too much hard work, as we finish renovating our house too!

3pond 20.7.13 by dennypixie, on Flickr

2pond 20.7.13 by dennypixie, on Flickr

1pond 20.7.13 by dennypixie, on Flickr

http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3834/9325797069_0424c7545d.jpg
fish fingers by dennypixie, on Flickr

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
zone 8a/b
Country
Germany
Ok, here's day two of the work:

Today we have found that the outlet for the swimming pool just opens out on the slope above the pond....nice bit of planning there. The fish will love chlorine, I am sure!

Today we found that for some obscure reason, we have bared electrical cables, that go over and under the ground randomly, to power the pump.

We dicovered that lily pads smell bad, when you pull them out of a half empty pond, and that pond rocks are slippery....not surprising, really.

We found loads of larvae and critters, baby newts, grown up ones, too, so we have saved everything we can and got most of the fish out.

We found out that the pump has NO filter. Not at all. It's an OASE 4000 Eco pump. So it looks to be ok, will clean it a little and put it back in when we have finished, and put in the new bio filter pump I have bought.