Galvanised Trough Pond - Insulation?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All,
I am a newbie here. We have had a pond for a while made from a galvanised water trough (the type you get on farms etc) about 6ft x 18" x 18" ish. We have had fish before but they have suffered in winter even with a pond heater.

My question is what are peoples thoughts about insulating the trough in someway. Would insulation increase the temp too much in summer or would it help keep the temperature down? The trough is alongside a picket fence so gets partial / full sun in the summer. Not quite sure of how I would insulate it at the moment just looking for thoughts on the idea.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
When you say the fish suffered what do you mean?

I would definitely consider insulating the pond in the winter - you can do something as simple as stacking bales of hay around the perimeter.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Are you sure it is the cold hurting the fish. You didn't say, but I will assume you mean goldfish. They can take constant 32F temps for many weeks at a time. At least 8 weeks. If you put the heater in that small metal tank it will likely have temperature gradients, or if insulated, the whole tank much higher than freezing. The fish will be more active and burn more energy but still can't eat to replenish fat reserves. Try running the heater only once in a while to melt a hole in the ice.

Zink is a highly reactive metal. It is called a 'sacrificial' coating because it sacrifices itself to save the steel. Anything galvanized left in the elements will eventually become bare steel, and then rust. I don't know about fish, but a lot of zink is not good for people. You won't find anything zink plated for food preparation. I once tried some hardware cloth to keep birds out of my plants. No fish died, but I lost some pond plants and the rest were all sick. You may need to line the tank.