General questions

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
Just a quick background. New house for us. Pond has been off and not maintained for at least two years. Drained and cleaned 2 days ago. (gross GROSS gross!)

Filled up with well water. Was completely green within two hours. Added this stuff, per directions, that was left by the previous owner.
IMG_20160830_192758188.jpg

It was grey in 24 hours, so I knew the algae was dying, and it was up to the filters now. Today it's completely clear, and the pH level is 8.02. Yup, I'm completely sure on that reading. ;)

IMG_20160830_192149653.jpg

I know I have to get some more test kits, but there's no fish yet. Just the frogs that came back after the muck change to water.

Is there anywhere around here that tells me what "normal" readings should be?

Never owned a pond before, so I'm just learning as I go.

Thanks for any insights or direction!

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
When you get your test kit, it will have a chart with values -- you'll compare your results to the results card. The instructions will explain what the results mean. Once your pond is cycled, you should have negative ammonia & nitrites; possibly negative nitrates, but some nitrates are OK. During the cycling process you will see all of these levels rise, then go down.

Most of us use the API Freshwater Master Test kit, and test for ammonia, pH (which you already have covered), nitrites, and nitrates. You can buy add-on kits for KH and GH.

I tried to include pics, but my iPad decided it had different plans at the moment.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
Thanks! Kit and add on will be here Friday. I know ya can't do much if you don't have readings!

So I guess I'll go look at goldfish. I don't know this for a fact, but I'm guessing goldfish are cheaper than koi. Should probably start off cheap...