Georgia pond

Amy

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
So, I'm a total newbie to ponds, but I have recently built this pond. It is 7-8 by 15 by 4 feet(deep) in main pond. It has 2 floor drains and a Hayward swimming pool pump that moves the water to a 7 by 7 by 2 feet(deep) pond for plants and a 35 foot stream bed back to lower pond. I made my own filter box which may be too small (2x2x2) It has three filter pads, and crushed coral(for ph?) I have recently added 3 mini cattails, 5 water hyacinths, 1 water lettuce with babies, celery(red and green) and 10 parrots feather. ( I hope they grow) Here are some pics of the progress and where I am now. Still have lots of planting, hiding, and decorating to do, but water has been running for about 3 weeks.

Sorry, I can't seem to remove my first picture, but he is a cool little fish. lol

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
Holy mackerel Amy, that looks great! That's what my lil pond hopes to be when it grows up. Your stream looks like it has a nice flow to it. Did you do all the digging by yourself? Simply wonderfall!

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
Hey Amy that is looking fine and it's a big project but will be so rewarding when you are finished. If you want you can add a little short shelf a few inches deep around the edge of your pond if you have just enough liner to do so. That way when water is added it will cover that lower ledge w/ rocks put on it and then rocks up around the top edge too and will hide your liner. Something like this:
IMG_6050.JPG

Amy

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
Thanks, I was hoping peeps would notice the shirt, I thought it hilarious. It has been lots of work. I will admit that after digging for 2 weeks, in northeast Georgia red clay, I hired someone with a back hoe to come and finish the digging.