Getting into koi pond

Reaction score
Thinking of building a koi pod for my parents. Im thinking at least 1000 to 1500 gallon pond. I have some experience with fish but mostly saltwater. Im wondering what type of filttration to get or build. I saw a few laguna for about 200 bucks.. is that worth getting. Does a koi pond need alot of water movement. If i could get some feed back that would be great... thanks

fishin4cars

True friends just call me Larkin
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
Welcome aboard, Would be nice if you would go to introductions and introduce yourself, I'm not real familar with that system but there many here that can speak for it and do use it. As for size, are you planning on keeping one or two Koi? If you thinking more then think bigger. 1000-1500 might be enough room for one or two adults, Which takes about three to five yeras to reach. Pond water needs to be turned over a minimal of once an hour, so you need a pump for that size pond that will pump 1000-1500gph at the maximum head that you run the water up to.

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
welcome, put in your location too, it helps us help you!

turtle-welcome-to-the-group.gif

Read the diy section, there are some good home made filters that work great and will save you some money.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States