Gravel/Bog Filter

Discussion in 'DIY - Do It Yourself' started by Harshit, Jul 23, 2016.

  1. Harshit

    Harshit

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    Jodhpur, Rajasthan, India
    <Talking about that thing I've built, on the right side in picture>
    First of all is it gravel filter or bog, or both are just synonyms?
    Now, I actually wanted to fill the rocks upto the top water surface. But I'm out of rocks now.
    Is it necessary to completely fill it until hiding the water or its just okay having 1"-2" water over them? IMG_1294.JPG
     
    Harshit, Jul 23, 2016
    #1
    Usman likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  2. Harshit

    Meyer Jordan Tadpole

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    6,945
    Likes Received:
    5,407
    Location:
    Pensacola, Florida
    I call it a gravel filter, but labels are unimportant. Of importance is whether or not it will improve water quality (it will) and subsequently the optimal configuration to accomplish this.
    Raising the gravel to at least the water level will create maximum surface area for bacteria to colonize. The more surface area available for bioconversion the better the water quality. It is basically that simple.
     
    Meyer Jordan, Jul 23, 2016
    #2
    MitchM likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. Harshit

    Faebinder

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    576
    Location:
    Hershey, PA

    Yikes. Just made mine and I have at least 6 inches of water over the gravel layer. I guess I need more gravel.
     
    Faebinder, Jul 23, 2016
    #3
  4. Harshit

    Lisak1

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Messages:
    3,950
    Likes Received:
    4,216
    Location:
    Northern IL
    We find the plants we grow in our bog prefer to be out of the water a bit more too - too deep and they drown.
     
    Lisak1, Jul 23, 2016
    #4
    Meyer Jordan likes this.
  5. Harshit

    Meyer Jordan Tadpole

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    6,945
    Likes Received:
    5,407
    Location:
    Pensacola, Florida
    I did not mean that having water over the surface of the gravel is a bad thing, only that bioconversion will be gained by utilizing all of the available submerged space.
    Incidentally, most 'bog' plants do well with no more than 4 inches or less of water depth
     
    Meyer Jordan, Jul 23, 2016
    #5
  6. Harshit

    Harshit

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    Jodhpur, Rajasthan, India
    Okay, so that completely depends upon how much BB you want to be colonized. That fine then, I add more if needed.

    Right now want to grow veggies in there. Any experience regarding that?
     
    Harshit, Jul 23, 2016
    #6
  7. Harshit

    Faebinder

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    576
    Location:
    Hershey, PA
    If you have a level of water above the pea gravel do you think the water will not exchange well with the water between the gravel?
     
    Faebinder, Jul 23, 2016
    #7
  8. Harshit

    Usman

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    490
    Hi , ihave smthing like this too but i added gravel in net sacks to keep it handy and easy to clean , but uhv this plan to plant thts why , as far as i know , if ur planting normal vegetables , uil need gravel atlesst 5 inch above wwter bcz there roots need air or they will die in water , if uil have water plants then u can plant them in water.
    But as filter uil need to think more , atsome point it will have enuf dirt mud that it will stop filtering to clear particles , thn uil need some drain pipe or clean out some mud , altho it will work as bio filter but not as mechanical for long
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2016
    Usman, Jul 23, 2016
    #8
  9. Harshit

    addy1 water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    30,645
    Likes Received:
    14,773
    Location:
    Frederick, Maryland
    I tried veggies, but I did not have enough fish to supply nutrients, (years ago) they did grow just not well. have not tried since.
     
    addy1, Jul 23, 2016
    #9
  10. Harshit

    Usman

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    490
    Thts true ,What ihv observed too is tht in aquaponic the system is complicated and alot of hardwork while the amount of plants u can plant is very little also the area needed to fill water plus wwter will evaporate more , instead its easier to plant in soil nearby and drain some water from pond daily to water them
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2016
    Usman, Jul 23, 2016
    #10
  11. Harshit

    Meyer Jordan Tadpole

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    6,945
    Likes Received:
    5,407
    Location:
    Pensacola, Florida
    Do not attempt to grow root vegetables.They are easily contaminated by the pond water. Above ground veggies are fine.
     
    Meyer Jordan, Jul 23, 2016
    #11
    crsublette and Harshit like this.
  12. Harshit

    Usman

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    490
    Oh but what type of contamination you mean?
     
    Usman, Jul 23, 2016
    #12
  13. Harshit

    Meyer Jordan Tadpole

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    6,945
    Likes Received:
    5,407
    Location:
    Pensacola, Florida
    E. coli for one. It is in all pond water, especially ponds with fish. You will not see root vegetable grown in any aquaponics system.
     
    Meyer Jordan, Jul 23, 2016
    #13
  14. Harshit

    MitchM

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    5,688
    Likes Received:
    5,452
    Location:
    Water Valley, Alberta
    You may experience an iron deficiency for the plants.
    That's what I struggled with in my aquaponics system.

    .
     
    MitchM, Jul 23, 2016
    #14
  15. Harshit

    Faebinder

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    576
    Location:
    Hershey, PA
    I would not eat anything grown in fish pond water. Salmonella and E. coli are natural for fish.
     
    Faebinder, Jul 24, 2016
    #15
  16. Harshit

    Faebinder

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    576
    Location:
    Hershey, PA
    So what do you do to compensate for the poor iron cause I think my plants are gonna have that problem.
     
    Faebinder, Jul 24, 2016
    #16
  17. Harshit

    Harshit

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    Jodhpur, Rajasthan, India
    No roots, I only want to try some fruit like tomatoes, capsicum etc. Thats an obvious problem with ponds.

    It might not be the problem with those well maintained commercial aquaponics systems. But ponds are exposed to open outdoor environment, so its not that safe.
     
    Harshit, Jul 24, 2016
    #17
  18. Harshit

    mrsclem mrsclem

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,905
    Likes Received:
    1,312
    Location:
    st. mary's county, md.
    I have tomatoes and peppers growing in my bog and they are doing well. the plants are producing the same as the ones in containers on my deck.
     
    mrsclem, Jul 24, 2016
    #18
    Harshit likes this.
  19. Harshit

    Mucky_Waters

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    1,555
    Location:
    BC Canada
    Something else to consider too is that with the water exposed on top of the rocks you can, and probably will, get algae growth on the rocks, whereas if the rocks cover the water level you won't get any algae growth in there because the sunshine won't be able to access the wet rocks.
     
    Mucky_Waters, Jul 24, 2016
    #19
    budgenator and Harshit like this.
  20. Harshit

    Harshit

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    Jodhpur, Rajasthan, India
    Thanks, I totally forgot that. I'll check if that happens.
     
    Harshit, Jul 24, 2016
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. Nova

    pea gravel bog from scraps

    Nova, Mar 27, 2011, in forum: DIY - Do It Yourself
    Replies:
    37
    Views:
    5,001
    sissy
    Apr 11, 2011
  2. Mmathis

    HOW DEEP FOR A GRAVEL BOG?

    Mmathis, Jan 25, 2013, in forum: Pond Construction & Equipment
    Replies:
    13
    Views:
    1,066
    Mmathis
    Jan 31, 2013
  3. Minnow

    Stock Tank Filter Or Bog (gravel/plant) Filter?

    Minnow, Apr 10, 2013, in forum: Pond Construction & Equipment
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,594
    capewind
    Apr 11, 2013
  4. Mmathis

    PEA GRAVEL FOR A BOG ..... DIFFERENT SIZES?

    Mmathis, Jan 21, 2014, in forum: Pond Construction & Equipment
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    736
    dieselplower
    Apr 22, 2014
  5. koshki

    How do you get rid of pea gravel silt in a new bog?

    koshki, May 6, 2014, in forum: Newbies to Garden Ponds
    Replies:
    20
    Views:
    1,727
    falconut
    May 8, 2014
  6. Mmathis
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    892
    mrsclem
    Jun 20, 2014
  7. Dirty Dawg

    Introducing Air Into Gravel Bog?

    Dirty Dawg, Sep 4, 2014, in forum: Pond Construction & Equipment
    Replies:
    27
    Views:
    1,357
    dieselplower
    Sep 8, 2014
  8. ASchell90
    Replies:
    34
    Views:
    1,385
    addy1
    Nov 6, 2016
Loading...