Gravity fed filter this time still need some help

Reaction score
Hi all on my second pond, this time I am going to use an external pump and gravity feed filter.
I have a water fall from my existing pond which I wish to keep.
What i was wandering was as my pump is only topping up the pond to keep the system filtering would i be able to use an equal tee and split the flow to my water fall or would this interfere with the GFF as i am still learning your help would be appreciated
also would i need some sort of valve in place if this is possible.
Thanks

DrCase

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
simple ball valves will let you do any thing you want with your pump water
i am not sure just what your asking
Welcome to the forum

Reaction score
You can split the water after the pump, yes. For example, in my pond I have the pump feeding my stock tank filter, and then the water exits and splits in 6 different directions: to my waterfall, to two wall spitters, and three underwater outlets.

Reaction score
My pond is a puddle in comparison too most of the guys and girls on here.
I have had to shrink it to a 1000g to allow for my double garage its a shame but need's must, I have 1750 uk gph pump so this will run my 4" BD And water fall ,would it be possible to add a skimmer to the equation on the same pump if so were in the line would I plumb this in as most of the skimmer set ups i have seen have there own pumps

Reaction score
For a 4" BD and a waterfall, I think you will find that your 1750 gph pump might be a tad small. I know a 3" BD alone pulls in 1600 gph US (not sure what UK equiv is). A 4" will pull in way more. If I were you, I would do a bigger pump. There's no way you can add a skimmer to this scenario unless you go with a separate pump.

A 4" BD on a 1000g pond? Hmm....What are the dimension of your pond? I'm not sure if you want to neck that 4" BD down to 3"....

Reaction score