Greetings from New Mexico

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7b
Country
United States
Total Noob here. First dealings with a pond. It came with the house and as far as we could tell it never had fish and is about 6 years old and holds just about 300 gallons..
I drained it, scrubbed it, rinsed it, fixed the pumps and added a mechanical filter to it and lowered the water fall to only 2 tiers, it was 3 tiers originally and we were loosing 150+ gallons of water a week due to evaporation ($$$$$$$), now it looses only 50 gallons a week or less.
The lilies are new and there is about 20 gold fish ( 2" to 3" long) in it.
These pictures were taken this summer and the pond gets full sun light most of the day, yes hair algae is a problem, so I tinted it dark blue at the recommendation of a local lily grower..
Next phase is to reconfigure it some and add another 14" to 18" to the height and have a nice wide 16" deep 16" wide shelf area all of the way around it for potted plants or lilies in the non-turbulent end. The water fall(s) will be rebuilt and maybe only visible before going under a stone bed before exiting into the pond to keep the turbulence and splashing down for the lilies and frog bit.
Looking forward to looking through this forum for ideas and to here from you all on your thoughts. These pictures were taken early in the morning as the pond is on the North side of the yard.

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Welcome to our forum! That is a nice looking pond you have.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Welcome!

So are you planning to raise the sides of the pond so it's partially above ground? A smaller waterfall is a great idea - you don't need much height to create water movement. Check out the Pond Digger on YouTube for some great DIY pond build videos!