Guppy about to have babies?

Reaction score
I think my fancy guppy is about to have babies!!! She's very swollen looking and is not swimming too much, seems to be resting on the bottom or hiding near plants (hopefully she's not dying!?).

I moved her to a new tank because I figured the babies would be eaten in the current tank.

Its a new tank, I filled it with half pond water and half fresh well water. I added some aquarium salt (I've never used this before, so I only added half of what was required. I have plants in the tank, so I didn't want to kill them

I tested the water 7.5 PH, hopefully some good bacteria from the pond water is going to jump start the filter in the tank.

I hope I did the right things here. Anyone else out there have guppies? Any advice? I'm so excited about this - and really hoping she's not sick ......

Thoughts anyone?

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
Yey for guppy babies. I have tons, way too many ;) I actually just had mine in a basket in the same tank so it was not stressing her too much, then added a few plants.

Make the tank dark will help with stress. I covered the tank with just heavy blanket. I like watching the baby comes out though, it's quite cool.

Reaction score
Yey for guppy babies. I have tons, way too many ;) I actually just had mine in a basket in the same tank so it was not stressing her too much, then added a few plants.

Make the tank dark will help with stress. I covered the tank with just heavy blanket. I like watching the baby comes out though, it's quite cool.

I'm still waiting. No babies yet. She's just laying around the tank in different places. Is that normal? I don't think she's sick, as the other fish were leaving her alone when she was in the main tank and they normally start eating the weak link.

I really don't want to lose her, I just spent $75.00 for a new tank!

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States