Has anyone found a plant that fish actually like to eat?

Reaction score
I am trying to minimize pond cleaning to reduce algae. I use UV, water is clear but some algae still forms.

I want to try adding some plants that will extract nutrients from the water and which the fish -- koi, comets, shrunken -- would like to eat.

So far the plants I have submerged in the pond seem to grow but the fish refuse to eat.

Unless they eat at night when no one is looking. Or they just eat the new shoots?

Does anyone know of water plants that fish actually like to eat?

Can I starve the fish for a bit to induce them to become vegetarians?

harry

Reaction score
hdavid44 said:
Can I starve the fish for a bit to induce them to become vegetarians?
Absolutely. If you withhold all animal based food the fish would be vegetarians. There would be the occasional bug they could eat, but basically they'd be forced vegetarians.

GreatDanesDad

Electro-Mechanical Engineer
Reaction score
I am new to this so hopefully other people can validate my ideas (I only have ideas and limited experience, not knowlege), but for what you want, you may be missing a key thing. You want clear water with less cleaning. You dont have an agenda to go vegetarian do you?

Think about it like this. You use a UV and kill both algae and benificial bacteria. The fish eat, poop, and there is not enough good bacteria to dispose of the waste, so you end up with gunk to clean up, and unstable water that is subject to more algae blooms. Many would agree that with a UV system, your fish load (inch of fish per surface area of benifical bacteria substrate) must be much lower than a system without a UV.