Hello, all! Oh, and I need info...

Reaction score
Hello, folks! My name is James and I am a resident of Freeport, Il. Working on a pond I guess I'm a little confused about about a couple different things so I thought I would go to the best place for advice.

First, a quick rundown on the pond's background. A year and a half ago I bought my first home and the following spring I set about putting in a koi pond since I had wanted one for years. The result was a roughly thousand gallon pond, rectangle in shape, pumped and filtered by a bundle I bought from Amazon. The pond had multiple issues, all of which stemmed from the fact that it was a DIY job by a complete amatuer. I decided last fall that come this summer I was going to rip it up and redo the whole thing. So a couple weeks I ripped the old pond out completely and started digging to make it much bigger. I am now at a point where my hole is roughly 16'x16', 3' deep with an area in center that is dug down to 4' deep. A new liner and underlayment are still in their packaging in my garage and I'm awaiting have stones delivered in a couple weeks to start putting it all together but I have a few issues/ questions I need resolved before I start working it all in.

First question has to do with bottom drains. My first pond just had a pump that sat at the bottom of the pond. Orginally planned on doing the same for the new pond just with a more powerful pump. However, the more I read and research the more I am convinced that a bottom drain is the way to go. Actually installing the drain is not the issue as there are plenty of videos and how-to's pages out there. Question that I have is: then what? How does a pump fit into having the bottom drain? Where is it positioned? Etc etc?

Next is the skimmer. Same kind of questions. I know how to install the skimmer but then what? Does a pump have to be attached to that (I'm assuming) and does there have to be a line running from the skimmer to somewhere?