Hello Everyone

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6A, we are also very windy
Country
United States
I've been ponding for about 20 years all together, my present pond is our second after we moved out to the country. My wife talked me into building one that's a bit too big and a bit hard to maintain. The pond is about 38 feet long and about 18 feet wide, 4 1/2 ish feet deep to 2 1/2 feet deep and unless my calculations are whacked about 11,000 gallons. We had a waterfall that I never really was quite satisfied with, feed by two pumps in the bottom of the deep end and a skimmer in the shallow side aided by the prevailing winds.

After about 5 years of use, last year we had a leak of about a 1,000 gallons a week. I took out all of the rocks in the pond as the water slowly receded looking for what I assumed would be a fairly obvious tear in the liner. During this process we set up a swimming pool to house to house the fish and transferred at least 200 comets that started out as a dozen feeder and 5 frogs. It sooner became obvious that the leak was else where, but I kept going because there was an unbelievable amount of muck. With the waterfall shut down the water level stabilized, so after a complete clean out of the pond, we added water and transferred the fish back to the pond for the winter.

Right now water has gone pea-soup and the fish aren't feeding vigorously while we're limping along with inadequate filtration. I'm upgrading my filter-fall as it had a large leak last year. I'm rebuilding and repumbing to allow dual 2500GPH pumps on the bottom, check valves in case one pump goes out and a venturi aerator, going through 3 inches of green Matula filter, then 50 L of K1 and the exit the 23 inch wide weir. The filter-fall is going to be built on a piece of EDPM liner so if there is another leak we don't lose a thousand gallons a week of water.