Hello from a frustrated pond owner.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6B
We have a lovely pond, but it has been an expensive and stressful journey up to this point. The latest problem is that the man who built and takes care of our pond has been unreachable for months. I know there has been illness in the family, and it is completely understandable that he puts family first, but having no one else who is knowledgeable and trustworthy is frustrating.

I thought I had found someone decent to winterize the pond, but that was a failure. He told me he had experience. I think that was a fish tale. I've had to go into the pond in cold weather to clear leaves and debris from the pump. Unfortunately, I bought a net with holes that are too big and allow too many leaves into the pond, and that's what clogs the pumps.

So I am here to learn about pond care so that I can do it myself since I can't find anyone competent and trustworthy and believe me, I have looked. I have very little knowledge about chemical care. I just know what our pond guy has used in the past, but come spring, I'll need to add chemicals like he did for the summer pond season.

Anyway, it's nice to be here. Cheers!

Reaction score
Welcome fishfinder!
I wonder if they used the microbe lift autumn/winter prep. I used that the first year I started my pond but haven't used it since and my fish are doing great. What are the diamentions of your pond?

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
swirl.gif
to our group! Where in Maryland are you? What kind of filter do you have, what kind of fish and like mtpond asks size of pond and what kind of fish and how many?

Get a swimming pool leaf net and a pole, use that to scoop out leaves, it does a great job.

$T2eC16ZHJFsFFSIpEKpYBSHeLlH0,Q%7E%7E60_12.JPG

addy1

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Pictures help too, post some when you have time

Reaction score