Hello from "a new to the world of fishes" from Birmingham

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am fairly new to fish keeping and am in the process of building up my knowledge of how best to look after my recently aquired fish.
To be honest i never intended to to have a pond but hubby would not indulge me and let me have a couple of chickens or Snakes, miserable old so and so, so here i am 6 months later with a pond and six goldfish, several Koi, two Sturgeon, and a couple of other fish that i have forgotten the names of.This "hobby" has turned out to be more costly than i had thought it would be, and i can still remember when we used to win a goldfish from the local fair that i would bring home in a plastic bag and beg Mom for a suitable container to put it in only for it to keel over the next day :sad:
Well, fingers crossed things are going well and i am really getting into this fish keeping, they are fasinating creatures, i can spend hours just watching them and there is nothing more relaxing than sitting by the pond with the sound of running water and a large Jack D.
I look forward to chatting to everyone and hope to learn more about keeping my fish healthy.
nannydeb

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
welcomefromgang4.gif
to our group!

It is very relaxing to sit by your pond and just watch them swim. Glad you joined.

Reaction score
welcome
nannydeb

yes it does cost more than one would think when you start adding this and changing that.. but it relaxing to sit and watch and the large JD doesn't hurt either :)

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
:wave: Welcome! And is Birmingham in the UK?