Hello from Austria

Reaction score
Hi,

So, a bit about myself. I've originally from the UK, but have been living in Austria, Graz to be specific, for the last 6 years.

3 years ago i bought a house here, and decided straight away that i wanted to build a pond, with a decked area next to it. The pond was finished in summer 2007 - half of the pond is 1m deep, and the other 0.5m deep. A picture of the pond and deck should be attached to this post.

To start off with a bought 3 goldfish - two orange, and one tricolured (mostly white, with black and red spots).

I have to admit that i was/still am a complete newbie, and i've made a lot of mistakes, but that is part of the reason i joined this forum, and also part of the fun in setting up the pond.

The pump/filter i bought at first was completely inadequate for the volume of water, 5000 litres, in this pond, and was quickly replaced with a UV biofilter and stronger pump, plus lots of plants.

This arrangement worked well for a while, but then in summer 2008 we had a surprise - baby fish!

Unfortunately there are no predators in this pond, and i've only been able to give away a few fish so far, so to date i have 5 large fish (approx. 30cm long) and 160 small fish (approx. 5cm long).

In total this is approx. 1m length of fish. In theory the pond can support this, but i am having massive problems now with algae and green water.

I'm planning on upgrading the pump and filter arrangement, and i'm also going to add a waterfall and wetlands area. This is my project for this year.

I'd appreciate any insights from the members here. I have *a lot* to learn still, but it's worth it to see all the fish swimming around when i'm sat out on the deck of an evening drinking a beer! :D

cheers,

Andy.

Attachments

• pond.jpg
    pond.jpg
    30.2 KB · Views: 292
Reaction score
Very nice pond.Like how it goes under the deck :D
I also have gold fish,and a few years ago they also had baby fish.5 of them grew-up to large fish :D