Hello from NE Texas!

SHARON55

SHARON
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I just found this forum tonight while trying to find instructions on setting up a stock tank pond and DIY bio-filter. I'm a retired R.N. that has been married to my long-suffering husband George for almost 32 years and we have three grown children. We live east of Dallas, Texas on 10 acres. I am new to fish ponds but not new to fish. I have a 'fish room' with several tanks and I breed bristle-nosed plecos(algae-eaters). I am attaching a photo of one of my fish tanks with a custom background.
Since we do live out in the sticks, I am interested in buying a galvanized stock tank to convert to a fish pond. I welcome any advice and look forward to learning a lot from this forum!
tank2.jpg

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
welcomefrogcar.gif
To our group Sharon

Beautiful fish tank btw, I used to have indoor tanks, now just the pond.

I would dig a hole and line it. You will probably find the stock tank to be too small when you get done, unless you can get a huge one. Texas gets hot, you need depth to keep the water cool for the fish.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
welcome and not sure about galvinized but iI have a 150 gallon and 300 gallon stock tank from rubber made and they work great and are not to expensive .i bought mine at a house auction .

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
howdycowboy-1.gif
Sharon
I'd vote to dig a hole about 5 or 6' deep, put the liner in and go from there. You have 10 acres so you have tons of room. The bigger the better! You will be glad you did. Or you could try the tank thing and then dig it up next year and then do the hole/liner thingy,lol!

SHARON55

SHARON
Reaction score