Hello from New Jersey

Olenka

Life is beautiful! Enjoy every moment
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
Hi everyone! Such a nice forum! Found tons of useful info already.
I am a newbie from Northern Jersey, unemployed data analyst. I used to have a fish tunk many years ago. Now I am digging my first pond. Have lots of questions. The pond is almost ready. It is 6x7, 40 inches deep, shaped as an oval. I am planning to install a liner this week. Is it too late to add fish? Should i wait till spring? I bought a water lily, anacharis, some bog plants already. They have been sitting in utility tubs for 2 month and growing pretty well. I see some aquatic life developing in there - some kind of small worms or tiny tadpole are swimming around.
My plan is to fill the pond with water and transfer the plants in there ' as is', with the mud/water they are sitting in. How long do i have to wait before getting the fish?

Last edited:

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hello and welcome!

I will defer to others on the issue of adding fish — winter isn’t an issue for me in Louisiana.

You could add plants, but it’s the fish that provide the “fertilizer” for the plants. The water lily you could go ahead and pot. It will go dormant soon.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
You’ll want your pond to cycle a bit first, how long until you expect freezing temps? If you have to Plan trick or treating costumes around warm clothes, hold off till spring. If you’re lucky to see more than frost before Christmas, you might add a few small plain comets to move the cycle along. Like 3, not 10! One would be lonely, two would be ok, three is plenty. But know your weather, and don’t get attached to the fish just in case!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
Oh and if your expecting harsh freezing temps, get a de icer, to keep a hole for gas exchange

Olenka

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country