Hello from North Carolina! Eagar to learn.

Reaction score
Hello all,

I am planning my 1st pond and very excited! I do have fish experience, however they come from a larger body of water. I have been keeping saltwater fish for about 6 years. I currently have 2 tanks (180 gallon reef tank & 140 gallon eel tank). Ponds and saltwater tanks are obviously 2 completely different worlds but also, so many similarities (water quality the biggest).

I look forward to absorbing as much knowledge as possible, in hopes of having a successful build (the 1st go round)!

-Chris

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
welcomefromgang4.gif

Glad you joined.
Start with reading everything you can, that will help you get an idea of what you might want to do for your pond.

The DIY sections have a lot of knowledge and information. Read some of the construction threads to see how others have built their ponds.

And of course we all will be glad to help you. My first little ponds where built on a weekend whim, of course had to fix some issues. The first large pond I spent around 6 months reading and planning before we even dug the hole. There are a lot of decisions you will have to make.

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
th_FROGAN13.gif
ncwaters
You will find so much info here to get you started in the right direction it's not funny :lol:
Do it right the first time and your life will be so much easier :cool:

digginponds

pondaholic
Reaction score
ncwaters said:
Hello all,

I am planning my 1st pond and very excited! I do have fish experience, however they come from a larger body of water. I have been keeping saltwater fish for about 6 years. I currently have 2 tanks (180 gallon reef tank & 140 gallon eel tank). Ponds and saltwater tanks are obviously 2 completely different worlds but also, so many similarities (water quality the biggest).