Hello from the High Desert - Long Post Lots of Pics :)

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hello fellow garden ponders! I joined this website because it seems to have the topics I am looking for and because it seems to have more attendance than the other pond forums I visit.

*Disclosure: I am new to ponding so as you read this please tell me if I am up in the night about anything :redface: I appreciate all the information I can get.

I live in Salt Lake Valley UT and according to the NEW USDA Zone map am now a zone 7!!! Yay!!!

I am an obsessive gardener and ponder. I spend every minute I can outside once temps are above 50 degrees and until temps reach that high I am inside researching plants and pond stuff. I absolutely love it. I find it to be a sort of meditation when I am out in the yard playing in the dirt :razz: I prefer to do things myself if I can physically do it and if not I ask my DH to help. But I hate the idea of hiring anyone to do something that I feel I could do just as well for less money.

I have been gardening for many years and always wanted a pond. Last spring I talked my DH into digging me one. It was completed in June of last year. This is my first winter and first spring so as you can imagine I have been full of questions.

My pond is a 5000 gallon oval shape with planting shelves. The deepest part is 3 feet and the shelves drop a foot each. Average depth is probably 2 feet. It measures 17 feet by 24 feet. The only money I spent was on the liner, pump, hoses, fish and plants. Luckily the desert is very close and has an abundance of rocks so a few trips out took care of the rocks I needed.