Hello from the Steel City!

Reaction score
Hello ponders,

My name is Dawn and I am pretty new to this forum.....but I've been ponding for about 20 years, building my first little puddle when I was about 18 years old. It was 100 gals......then I put in a 150 gal (both preformed), then I built our approx. 2000 gal w/ 45 mil liner. That one included a waterfall and stream and is home to our many fish.

We purchased property 5 years ago and started building our dream home and pond. Both are almost finished and we are getting really anxious and excited. It's been a long road, as all the work was done by myself and DH. Right now I am juggling painting our home and installing the 7000 - 10,000 gal. pond (very irregular shape.....orig. calculated 9000+ gallons, but we are now thinking it may be a little less). The pond design and hole was ready a long time ago, but we just finally put the liner in last Friday and I am working on plumbing and setting stones. I hope to have it up and running by the end of the week so it can cycle for a few weeks before moving our fish. Yes, they are all coming with us. I have some nice sized Koi and goldfish and the move is about 6 miles. Anxious but nervous for that day!

I'm going to dig my settlement pond and filtration chambers tonight but have a few questions in regards to their sizes so I will probably post that in the appropriate forum.

Looking forward to getting to know the ponders here and seeing your fish, ponds, and gardens.

I have posted on another pond forum for years and recognize a few members here such as Cliff and Joann.....the owners of such an amazing pond and bunch o' beautiful fishies :bowdown:

Thanks!
Dawn (mamabirrd)

Reaction score
Hello from another forum newb. I live in Morgantown, nearby to you and relatively new to ponding.

Our local pond store is very helpful, but it would be nice to have a second store in the area I could trust. Can you recommend any of the Pittsburgh area stores?

DrDave

Innovator