Hello garden pond folks!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
10a, 9a, 9b
Country
United States
Hi all,

My name is Leah, nice to meet you! I am relatively new to patio/container pond keeping but not new to fish keeping as I used to keep fancy goldfish for years indoors. I am a middle school science teacher in Northern California so my fishies lived conveniently in my classroom. Last April, I relocated my fish to my home because my classroom shut down. Rather than keep my fish in a tank in my home, which I always found difficult, I thought maybe it was time to try outdoor fish keeping, and that became my new Covid hobby back when everyone was still figuring out what to do with themselves.

So I've had my 50 gallon container pond for over a year but I wouldn't say I'm finished or even all that happy with it. I've been just doing OK in terms of upkeep and although my fish still seem healthy (maybe even healthier than indoors I think?), I could be doing more to upgrade their quality of life.

At first glance of the forums, seems many people on this site have much larger set ups, even in ground. Mine is very small but I'm looking to upgrade! Hope to become inspired by what some of you all are doing and get some advice on how to best keep up my patio pond!

See you around :)

-Leah

Attachments

• IMG_3093.jpeg
    IMG_3093.jpeg
    183.3 KB · Views: 45
  • Screen Shot 2021-05-26 at 11.17.38 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2021-05-26 at 11.17.38 AM.png
    198.9 KB · Views: 48
  • Screen Shot 2021-05-26 at 11.20.27 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2021-05-26 at 11.20.27 AM.png
    225.7 KB · Views: 48
  • Screen Shot 2021-05-26 at 11.20.47 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2021-05-26 at 11.20.47 AM.png
    150.7 KB · Views: 45

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Welcome to our forum! Nice clear water and healthy looking fish!

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States