Hello World!

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi everyone,

My name is Paola and I live in Surprise, Arizona. I am new to the GPF, and it is so nice to see there are other people out there with similar interests and a love for their animals. I decided to join GPF because I am a semi-newbie when it comes to taking care of my aquatic turtles. We currently have a pond in our backyard (I would say 5x5), and my two pre-existing turtles have definitely outgrown it. As of last week, we now have two new additions to the family that were in need of a new home: another red slider and a desert tortoise. NOTE: This does not apply to the desert tortoise!

The pond that we have is not only too small but also a complete cesspool of gunk, bacteria, mosquitos, spiders, etc. The pump stopped working years ago, the liner is perforated so water is practically non-existent unless we manually fill it, and it's just a mess. Thankfully, and I use this term loosely, my two turtles have acclimated to our situation. They have a lemongrass plant that is old and dry and have made it their home. This plant is right outside the pond, so whenever they are hungry, they come out of their cave and start walking to the pond. Usually, if they hear water, they will come out. Otherwise, one of the turtles comes up to our door and "knocks" , which is a way of saying, "Hey you fool! It's feeding time!". However, I absolutely hate this. I hate how our pond is, I hate that my turtles don't have a proper home, and with this new little girl that has joined the club, I don't want her to go through that, for many reasons.