Hello!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b-7a
Country
United States
I'm new, but I've been reading advice on here for awhile now. The experience and knowledge is invaluable! I've had the "working" ponds for 20+ years, no problems, but I am new at Koi ponding- and at the moment I am quite perplexed! First, what kind of filter for a 900 gallon pond? Second should I put rounded creek gravel in the bottom? My pond is constantly mucky even though we clean the filter every 2 or 3 days, so much so that I can't see my fish! Thanks for any and all help with this problem.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6 A
Country
United States
Welcome to the posting side of the forum :)

Rocks/ gravel, in the bottom of ponds, is a personal choice....some like it and some don't. I started with it, but removed it and prefer it without the rocks/ gravel.

Koi are always rooting around on the bottom of our ponds, so will stir up any debris / mulm, on the bottom of your pond.

What kind of filtration are you currently running and how many koi are in your 900 gallon pond ?

Again, welcome :)

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b-7a
Country
United States
Welcome to the posting side of the forum :)

Rocks/ gravel, in the bottom of ponds, is a personal choice....some like it and some don't. I started with it, but removed it and prefer it without the rocks/ gravel.

Koi are always rooting around on the bottom of our ponds, so will stir up any debris / mulm, on the bottom of your pond.

What kind of filtration are you currently running and how many koi are in your 900 gallon pond ?

Again, welcome :)

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b-7a
Country
United States
Thank you, tula. I have 2- 10" Koi and 3- 2 inch goldfish. I have a flat box type pre-pump filter, the pump runs 1,200 GPH.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States