Help First koi and its sick! (white fuzzy stuff)

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
First the basics. New pond and New Koi. The first day seemed somewhat ok. I thought maybe he lost a scale at the fish store on his extraction from their tank but I wasn't overly worried about it. Second day still on bottom ate two pellets. Called store I bought him at they said maybe he was in temperature shock because he was inside and I put him outside. Today near the top of pond, will not eat and covered in white fuzzy stuff. I scoped him out of the pond and brought him to an indoor tank for treatment. But I have no idea what is wrong with him so here are the pictures. Very very hard water, ph 6, nitrite 0 and nitrate 0 reading from pond test strip. New pond. Temp 67 F

More info than most people probably want here. I am new to having a pond, last year I built a small pond above ground as a test pond and everything went well. So I dug a pond 4*11 and the deepest part of the pond is 3 feet to shallow about 2 feet with a liner. I filled it up added the gold fish and one shubukin from the above ground pond. Total of ten fish. most about 4-5 inches long. They were in the pond for about a week and I went and bought this koi. the nitrite and the nitrates have not moved from zero at all. The filtration is a pump in the tank that split to a fountain and a small sponge filter. I have had fish as long as I can remember but have never had a koi. Also I have no salt in the pond but I had not heard mention of that until today. I can not recall saving a fish ever once it had stopped eating so I am helping someone can help. :)

Attachments

• IMG_2531.jpg
    IMG_2531.jpg
    83.5 KB · Views: 1,601
  • IMG_2535.jpg
    IMG_2535.jpg
    115.9 KB · Views: 2,162
  • IMG_2521.jpg
    IMG_2521.jpg
    101.5 KB · Views: 1,533

fishin4cars

True friends just call me Larkin
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a