Help - Fishies keep dying and can't stop Algae :( NEWB

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi Everyone

I'm a pond newb - having some trouble and was hoping for general help. If this should be posted elsewhere, please let me know!

I've got a small concrete pond with no plumbing (was originally supposed to be a water feature only). It's about 85 Gallons (6 ft x 2ft by 1ft). I have a water pump circulating water, and a 100 Gallon air pump with 3 airstones providing oxygen.

I put some feeder goldfish in (about 10 of them 1" each), and added the recommended amount of an aloe-vera based pond conditioner - and the fish seem happy and move around and eat the food I am feeding them - but over the course of 2 weeks, green suspended algae starts to form. last time around - I used some algaecide (but I read the measurements wrong, and put in WAY too much - and all my fishies died within hours - however all the algae died pretty quickly too!).

So I drained dried, and repeated the process - and again it's been about 2 weeks, and the suspended algae is back - so this time over the weekend I put in 1/2 the recommended amount (about 1 tbs), and basically nothing happened. The algae is looking thicker, and so yesterday I added the recommended amount again - and this morning 3 of the fish are dead. There's still a few visibly moving around - so all may not be lost - but I am not sure what to do here?

Options as I see it:

- perhaps the pond conditioner is unnecessary and without it I wouldn't have the algae problem to begin with
- perhaps I should add the algaecide in smaller quantities much sooner?
- i have considered covering part of the pond to limit light exposure - but I live in San Francisco, so it's only been sunny 3 or 4 days since these fish were in
- other ideas?

Thanks in advance for your help!!!!
Shamir

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States