Help! Koi abandoned at park! What do I do?

Reaction score
I live within walking distance of a park and just a few minutes ago I noticed a huge (probably about a foot and a half long) Koi in the lake. People abandon farm animals (mainly ducks, geese, and turtles) there all the time so I'm assuming that's what happened with this guy. He must have gotten too big and some idiot let him free. Anyways what do I do? I'm worried for his safety because there are always people fishing down there, there are tons of wild animals, and he probably doesn't know how to catch food. But I've never had any fish bigger than a small goldfish in my life and I have no where to keep him since he's twice the size of my tank. HELP!

Reaction score
I'm not an expert, but I don't think there is such a thing as a koi with out the ability to forage for food. It's not like domesticating the hunting instinct out of a dog or cat. If this is a large pond I think your chances of catching him are about halfway between slim and none. They're fast, and as I found out recently really smart. A pond at a park is going to have thousands of place to hide, I don't think there is anything you can do, just hope he doesn't go for a worm on a hook.

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
another-fish-welcome.gif
FishFriend
Only way to catch him would be with one of those big seine nets and doubt if your park caretakers would let you do that cuz you'd trap all the other fish in with him. You might also be surprised at how many other koi or goldfish are in there w/ him. If you figure out a way to catch him maybe somebody here who lives in Virginia might be able to find a home for him.............not mentioning your name or anything sissy :razz:

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
I know of several lakes around here Bedford ,leesville and Smith Mountain .

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A