Help, my water hyacinths are dying

Reaction score
Hello, I am a new member and recently built a small pond (200 gallons).
I purchased some water hyacinths and they are turning yellow , brown and dying.
I got the water tested and the PH was about 7.8 and the ammonia level was low.
I live in southern California and the pond get about 5 hours of full sun.
What am I doing wrong? I have about 15 feeder fish in it to test the water and they've been doing fine so far.
I've heard that I needed to get some iron for the plant but I have not been able to find any at Home depot or even at the Nursery where I got the water hyacinths.
Any help would be appreciated, thank you.

oldmarine

Married 32 years
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum,

Do you have any other water plants of any kind in your pond now? I have water lilies (5), parrot feather (2), miniture cat tail (2), purple pickeralweed (1), penny wart (1), trap door snails (16), and the Shubunkins (7).

I'm not an expert on hyacinths. I have a 365 gallon pond and the water hyacinths that I had grew so fast that I had to start separating them and giving them away to other local pond friends. Just recently my water lillies started to cover enough surface water that I removed all of my water hyacinths and threw them away. The frogs weren't happy about removing the hyacinths because they would sit in and among them and hide.

I'm sure one of our pond experts here will give you the right advice, don't give up.

Reaction score
oldmarine said:
Welcome to the forum,

Do you have any other water plants of any kind in your pond now? I have water lilies (5), parrot feather (2), miniture cat tail (2), purple pickeralweed (1), penny wart (1), trap door snails (16), and the Shubunkins (7).