Help needed! Completely clueless!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone,

Complete noob and first time poster here...so please forgive anything stoopid!

https://imgur.com/gallery/1eWKd

https://imgur.com/gallery/PhKy6

Me and my partner have just moved into a new house. It has a pond which I'm hoping you will be able to see in the imgur link in this post... as you can (hopefully) see, it's been neglected for a while. It consists of the main pond at the bottom with a waterfall feature coming down from a very small pond/ pool at the top. We live on the side of a mountain in Wales so the incline is fairly steep. As I said I have 0% knowledge of ponds. What I hope to achieve from all this is a working waterfall feature. Fish are not even on my radar at the moment.

If im honest I don't really even know what questions I should be asking..

As you can see in the pics the pond already had a pump in it. It previously did nothing but make a buzzing noise but after taking it apart and cleaning out all the muck and stones it now seems to be making the right sort of noise and a small amount of water is being pumped out of one of the nozzle holes above the blue dial on the side. I suppose my first question is - is this what it should be doing? Is this type of pump purely to circulate a very small current of water around the pond to keep it healthy or should it be pumping out a larger amount of water and therefore is likely to be kaput?

If it is doing as it should i.e. purely keeping the pond healthy does that mean I will need an additional pump to move water from this pond to the top and therefore make the waterfall work? Or if I attach tubing to the nozzle where the water is flowing out will it be sufficient to move the water to the top?