Help needed for a half-barrel pond!

Reaction score
Hi All,I'm a complete newbie to the world of ponds (and even worse at DIY!) but I'm been dreaming of a beautiful patio half-barrel pond with dwarf lilies and a few colourful guppies, and I'm determined to create one this spring! So I'm looking for some basic advise here - I've decided that I'll be pvc-lining the barrel, and the spot is a sunny corner on patio that receives 4-5 hrs of sunlight daily. Dimensions are roughly H 45cm x W 75cm.- How much water do you change and how frequently? How do you achieve this (i.e. manually or pump) esp. when the vegetation has grown up nicely? I don't think I'll be disciplined enought to leave a bucketful of water to dechlorinate every week so would rather go for the chemical treatment option which seems straighforward!- Is it recommended to have a water filter to maintain a clean pond - a smelly, stagnant, unattractive looking pond would be my worst nightmare! If yes, are there any recommendations in terms of size, brand etc?- Any other top tips for a clean, healthy (products for algae control etc) and inviting pond! I'd most gratefully appreciate any helpful advise, so many thanks in advance!RegardsManish

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
You may need a filter to clean it once in awhile but think most of the time just a small pump going to keep water aerated or plants and fish will die and then mosquitos will find it .You may be able to get away with just filtering the water once or twice a month .Put a hose on the pump and get a small basket and filter material and just set it up so the water goes back in the barrel or you could treat it like a fish tank and filter it with a fish tank filter set up .Remember if you have city water it may need to be treated

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
welcomesign4.gif
Manish