help newbie here wanting to build pond on a hill

Reaction score
Country
United States
hi all im brand new to this orum and i have built mutiple ponds at mutiple houses ..but i will be trying my first pond on the side of a pretty steep hill and was wondering how does one stop it from having runoff and mudslides into or under the pond ?
i have included 2 pictures of what it did look like before the rain destroyed it and filled the pond with mud and also went under the liner and caved in the walls! also most of the soil is clay so it takes forever to seep into ground!
please help!

Attachments

• 20180413_103916.jpg
    20180413_103916.jpg
    397.8 KB · Views: 272
  • VZM.IMG_20180413_132419.jpg
    VZM.IMG_20180413_132419.jpg
    252.8 KB · Views: 303
Last edited:

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hello and welcome! Wow, you’ve come with a lot of baggage, LOL! Your pond and the setting look nice, though!

I don’t even want to speculate, but I know I’ve read where other people have had “hill” issues. One thing you can do is a search of this site — see if you can pull up posts from others. @addy1 may have some advice, as well.

Just curious — where do you live? My landscape is flat, but we do have clay soil and a high water table, so I know what you mean about water under the liner and collapsing the walls! I had to do a total re-build when the pond was 2 years old because of this.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States