Help Required for new beginner

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Good day all,

I have just moved home and have inherited a garden pond with a selection of different sized and coloured goldfish. I am a complete amateur but would like to maintain the pond, which at the moment is not very clean. There is small amounts of moss growing on the surface but lots of green growth under the surface.

I am worried for the fish and would appreciate any ideas on how to start cleaning the pond up of this growth. There is no pump......so the water is stagnant.

Any help welcome. Thanks

KF

morewater

President, Raccoon Haters International
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
Canada
At the very least you need a pump. It doesn't have to be super-expensive. To start you could just put a fountainhead on a pump, toss that in there and you'll at least be introducing some oxygen into the water. When you say you've got "moss" growing on the surface, do you mean gross, slimy pond scum?

As to the algae, you can get algae out using a soft rake, that'll take most of it out. You can net out the surface crud with a pool net.

There are differences of opinion here on a product called D-Solv. I love the stuff. Grab some of the powder form, follow the instructions and that should take care of most of the decaying matter that's probably lying in the bottom of the derelict pond. One hell of a lot easier than emptying it, cleaning it and filling it back up.

It would also help to know where you're located and the general dimensions of the swamp you're starting to play with.

JBtheExplorer

Native Gardener
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
A pump, plants, and a filter are the three biggest needs. If you have them, the water will be much better than what it currently is, and the pond will mostly take care of it self. Actually, without a pump, I'm surprised the fish are alive.