help rescuing pond fish

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
cross posting, as it was suggested that i start a new thread.

new to site and ponding, came across this thread and forum just today

I'm rescuing some pond fish from a lady in a neighboring town who is moving to Florida from northern NJ
****disclaimer**** I have very little experience with fish and have a really bad track record with aquariums
It's late in the season here and I'm been furiously researching how to build a pond and winterizing, I even began digging a small pit.

Then I got the idea to instead winterize the fish in the garage over till the spring, when I can spend more time building the pond and preparing it for fish. So here I am

@waynefrcan, were you able to figure out the ammonia issue and how many fish and size are in each container?

where I live it gets down to about -10F but most of the time it averages about 25F, so icing is an issue. Water will not freeze in my garage since it's in the same level as the basement. I was just planning to keep the fish in two plastic whiskey style half barrels with aeration stones till spring. The tubs will be on casters so they can be dragged closer to the inside walls to get more heat. What water temp should I be targeting?

I may try to winterize a few fish outside next winter, but I think trying to doing everything before xmas and adding fish outside to new home is a sure fire way to dead fish. After reading this thread, I'm fairly sure this is the right approach for my situation, let me know otherwise.

I'll do a formal intro soon, just too much to do before the holidays, vacation and riding bikes....

update: Fish are a mix of koi, goldfish, and mollies, they have been in the pond for about 5 years. The koi are about 6-7 inches, molly and goldfish between 3-5 inches. There about 10-12 fish total

Ruben Miranda

I am so confused
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
12a
Country
United States
Hello