Help with lotus plants.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7-A
My lotus plants have a lot of coin leaves but no aerial leaves as yet. My understanding is after 2-3 aerial leaves you can then start fertilizing. My question is will these plants bloom this year as they appear to be small compared to the other ones I have seen ? Maybe after ferts they will hopefully take off. This is my first year with them and I am trying to get the beautiful blooms I have seen with others. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

mrsclem

mrsclem
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
Are these plants from seeds this year? I am just starting to get aerial leaves on my seedlings and have been fertilizing. Hoping to get some blooms but the plants are still small. I divided my older plants this spring and am now seeing buds.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Ours has two aerial leaves and yesterday I noticed a small bud! I started it from a rhizome last year, did not expect it to flower, and it pushed out four blooms last year.
Our other one was bought from a nursery, seemed older and well established, lots of aerials last year, ZERO blooms. This year it already has a ton of aerial leaves, no bloom yet (but it is early in the season). If it doesn't flower this year, I'm moving on. I mean there is only so much real estate available in the pond and I can't have a non-blooming lotus just chillin' there LOL.

mrsclem

mrsclem
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
Lotus don't have to be in a pond- mine are all in 20 gallon containers with the exception of my 75 gallon preform.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7-A
Are these plants from seeds this year? I am just starting to get aerial leaves on my seedlings and have been fertilizing. Hoping to get some blooms but the plants are still small. I divided my older plants this spring and am now seeing buds.
No these plants were bought at the end of the season last year. I divided them and started them this April.