Help With Pond Please

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi newbie here and hope im in the right section. Sorry if i sound a bit dumb however i dont have a clue about ponds so a few questions if someone could help me with please.

Just moved into my new home which came with a L shape pond. The previous keeper took the fish with him however i have decided im not going to be getting any fish as i dont have the time to look after them.

1. Ive started to empty the pond out as it was really filthy. On the lining theis loads of green sticky muck or algae whatever they call it. What is the best way to clean the whole pond out completely so it looks fresh.

2. It has black lining however i because im not having no fish or anything i just want it to look bright like a pool so whats the best way to make the lining look blue. Should i paint it blue or should i get a new blue lining and place over the black one.

3. Once ive done all this whats the best way to maintain this clear blue water. The pond is fitted with a oase filtoclear 6000 filter. I dont mind buying something thats slightly better and will keep the water clear. I want to install couple of bell sprinkers in the pond and i already have a waterfall feature which works with the oase system.

Sorry about all the questions.
Thank you

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
2a
Country
Canada
Welcome!
A water feature with a blue surface like you're describing cannot be done with a black EPDM liner.
The liner cannot be painted and there is no one that manufactures a blue EPDM liner.
To maintain clear blue water, you would need to add a chemical such as chlorine on an ongoing basis, plus have a filter and water circulation that removes any wildlife that enters the pond, as it would kill whatever entered it.
Wildlife ponds can be pretty much maintenance free, especially one without any fish.
If mosquitos are a concern, a few minnows that would not need any feeding could be added.