Help with waterpump size + filter?

Joined
Dec 10, 2016
Messages
29
Reaction score
38
Country
Hi

Have started digging and planning my 2 waterfall + pond this winter and should be started when spring/summer arrives
The question is how powerful the waterpump should be (thinking around 13000Liter/hour?)
Not going to have fish (i think :) )
Bio-filter with uvc or pressurized bio uvc filter.dont want to use 2 different waterpumps.can i have the filter burried in the top "pond"
the problem is not many filters can handle the amount of water i think i need to have the 2 waterfalls working?

 
A

Advertising

Joined
Jun 11, 2012
Messages
6,902
Reaction score
6,984
Location
Water Valley, Alberta
Hardiness Zone
2a
Country
Welcome Lillburt. :)
Could you give us some dimensions please? length, width, depth of pond?
An approximate total water volume as well.

.
 
A

Advertising

morewater

President, Raccoon Haters International
Joined
Feb 18, 2014
Messages
1,344
Reaction score
1,663
Location
Southern Ontario
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
Looks pretty shallow to me, Lillburt......I'd keep digging if I were you.

Calculate your total volume, use averages (length x width x depth) x 7.48 = Total Gallons.

Run a pressure filter with UV incorporated appropriately sized for your total volume. Buy a pump that will move the total volume at least once per hour. Getting a larger pump than you actually require will allow you to split the flow in two (one to the filtered waterfall, one to the other). Use smooth-bore tubing, the largest size that you can handle. Have your splitter installed below water (in the pond itself).

Yes, the canister component of the pressure filter can be buried. Ensure that you completely drain the canister prior to freeze-up.
 

sissy

sissy
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
31,389
Reaction score
14,414
Location
Axton virginia
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
You could use 2 pumps and this way you will get the water flow and lots of aeration into the pond which will help keep it cleaner .I have always used 2 pumps because of my first year with my pond the pump went out and no pumps to be found around here so had to pay extra for express shipping
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2016
Messages
29
Reaction score
38
Country




The place where the pump might be is not even 30cm deep.on the picture you might see the mark where the waterlevel is going to be..marked in the dirt as a line.how deep should it be.going to be 2 small "sand beaches" and the waterfall to the right will have it own "pond" with higher waterlevel than the "bigger" one to the left so it will be a small stream there also.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2012
Messages
6,902
Reaction score
6,984
Location
Water Valley, Alberta
Hardiness Zone
2a
Country
The area at the bottom of the picture with the layout lines doesn't look like it will be getting any water circulation. Is that the plan?
Will there be marginal plantings there?
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2016
Messages
29
Reaction score
38
Country
Joined
Dec 10, 2016
Messages
29
Reaction score
38
Country
And it is "only" about 80-100cm higher up the upper pond so it should be easy for the waterpump.
Looking at this water pump
Aquaforte-O-15000-Plus-Pond-Pump-Streampump-Filter-Pump-Power-Pump
4000GPH if i divide it into 2 pipelines using y-connection.1 goes straight up to upper pond and 1 too the filter (
Sunsun CPF-250 Pressure Pond Filter UVC 11W to 10000l )
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2012
Messages
6,902
Reaction score
6,984
Location
Water Valley, Alberta
Hardiness Zone
2a
Country
No worries - that's what Google translate is for.:)

A pond with no fish like Meyer Jordan mentioned will not require a biofilter, and it sounds like you want to have a fairly clean pond.
You could keep the pump placement where it is and tee off a small line towards the gravel area with some plants. I would not recommend a UV filter, that will only strip the pond of biodiversity, but that's my personal preference.
You may want to consider making sure to incorporate a berm around the pond to prevent surface ground water from entering the pond. That will help keep the level of nutrients down that could feed nuisance algae.
Are you planning on having a similar planting density as pictured on the blog site you posted?
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2012
Messages
6,902
Reaction score
6,984
Location
Water Valley, Alberta
Hardiness Zone
2a
Country
With no fish and plenty of plants, I think you would be fine with minimal water circulation, and only size the pump depending on how active you want the stream and waterfalls.
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2016
Messages
29
Reaction score
38
Country
Yes...really "clean" pond with nice stones but of course plants around and some japanease grass in water.we have some big frogs around here and some birds stops for some water but nothing more that makes the water "dirty"

The most importent is to have nice and clear water in waterfall and pond

Will make a "wall" around so there will be no ground water entering the pond
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 11, 2012
Messages
6,902
Reaction score
6,984
Location
Water Valley, Alberta
Hardiness Zone
2a
Country
If the pond is too clean, then the plants won't do very well. With the gravel in the pond, organic matter will accumulate over time and you will need plants with a strong root system to absorb the nutrients.
If you know that going in to the project, then you can have realistic expectations on what your pond will look like over the long term.
Are you planning on fertilizing the plants if the water is too clean?
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2016
Messages
29
Reaction score
38
Country
i have no idea how to keep the balance between not to clean water.but not too clean water can still look clear right...really beginner here..
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2012
Messages
6,902
Reaction score
6,984
Location
Water Valley, Alberta
Hardiness Zone
2a
Country
I think you have the beginnings of a really nice water feature, and there a lot of people here who will be very happy to help you through the construction process.:)
My opinion, and I'm sure others will contribute, is to start out with a nice layout as you already have, learn as you go along and add/subtract features or filters as you go.
I suggest nothing more than a water pump feeding the stream and waterfalls for now.
How cold and long is your winter?
Will the plants you have in mind survive the winter?
What is the frost line for your area? (how deep does the ground freeze?) That will help determine how deep your pond should be. For my area, it is 1.3 meters and my pond is iced over for 6 months.
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2016
Messages
29
Reaction score
38
Country
Thank you for all thoughts and help so far.Live on a smal island so the winters are not so cold.in 2009 i read about some reports of ground freeze domn 45cm and that was like a record.in middle of march we can have nice spring temperatures but still cold nights.i have to look up what plants can handle the temperatures here.then i will buy pond liner and 1 big waterpump 3000-4000GPH with 40mm pipe up to upper pond
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2012
Messages
6,902
Reaction score
6,984
Location
Water Valley, Alberta
Hardiness Zone
2a
Country
You're fortunate that you live so close to a major body of water. It really helps minimize severe temperature swings.
Hopefully you have a large selection of plants to choose from.
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2016
Messages
29
Reaction score
38
Country
Have now received my aquaforte Eco o 13000.going to use 50mm pipe and lets hope there will be enough movements in the stream and 2 waterfalls :)
 
A

Advertising

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top