Help with waterpump size + filter?

Discussion in 'Pond Construction & Equipment' started by Lillburt, Dec 10, 2016.

  1. Lillburt

    Lillburt

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    22
    Hi

    Have started digging and planning my 2 waterfall + pond this winter and should be started when spring/summer arrives
    The question is how powerful the waterpump should be (thinking around 13000Liter/hour?)
    Not going to have fish (i think :) )
    Bio-filter with uvc or pressurized bio uvc filter.dont want to use 2 different waterpumps.can i have the filter burried in the top "pond"
    the problem is not many filters can handle the amount of water i think i need to have the 2 waterfalls working?

    [​IMG]
     
    Lillburt, Dec 10, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Lillburt

    MitchM

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    6,143
    Likes Received:
    5,983
    Location:
    Water Valley, Alberta
    Welcome Lillburt. :)
    Could you give us some dimensions please? length, width, depth of pond?
    An approximate total water volume as well.

    .
     
    MitchM, Dec 10, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Lillburt

    morewater President, Raccoon Haters International

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    1,346
    Likes Received:
    1,662
    Location:
    Southern Ontario
    Looks pretty shallow to me, Lillburt......I'd keep digging if I were you.

    Calculate your total volume, use averages (length x width x depth) x 7.48 = Total Gallons.

    Run a pressure filter with UV incorporated appropriately sized for your total volume. Buy a pump that will move the total volume at least once per hour. Getting a larger pump than you actually require will allow you to split the flow in two (one to the filtered waterfall, one to the other). Use smooth-bore tubing, the largest size that you can handle. Have your splitter installed below water (in the pond itself).

    Yes, the canister component of the pressure filter can be buried. Ensure that you completely drain the canister prior to freeze-up.
     
    morewater, Dec 10, 2016
    #3
  4. Lillburt

    sissy sissy

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    29,746
    Likes Received:
    13,069
    Location:
    Axton virginia
    You could use 2 pumps and this way you will get the water flow and lots of aeration into the pond which will help keep it cleaner .I have always used 2 pumps because of my first year with my pond the pump went out and no pumps to be found around here so had to pay extra for express shipping
     
    sissy, Dec 10, 2016
    #4
  5. Lillburt

    Meyer Jordan Tadpole

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    7,181
    Likes Received:
    5,624
    Location:
    Pensacola, Florida
    If you are not planning on fish then you do not need biofiltration.
     
    Meyer Jordan, Dec 10, 2016
    #5
    Mmathis likes this.
  6. Lillburt

    Lillburt

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    22
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    The place where the pump might be is not even 30cm deep.on the picture you might see the mark where the waterlevel is going to be..marked in the dirt as a line.how deep should it be.going to be 2 small "sand beaches" and the waterfall to the right will have it own "pond" with higher waterlevel than the "bigger" one to the left so it will be a small stream there also.
     
    Lillburt, Dec 10, 2016
    #6
  7. Lillburt

    MitchM

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    6,143
    Likes Received:
    5,983
    Location:
    Water Valley, Alberta
    The area at the bottom of the picture with the layout lines doesn't look like it will be getting any water circulation. Is that the plan?
    Will there be marginal plantings there?
     
    MitchM, Dec 10, 2016
    #7
  8. Lillburt

    Lillburt

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    22
    think you are right there...should i put the pump more in the middle of the pond?

    i have checked this blogg and took ideas from that waterfall/pond.check the images.Swedish language :)

    http://jordundernaglarna.blogspot.fi/2014/01/att-anlagga-en-back-och-en-damm-del-2.html
     
    Lillburt, Dec 10, 2016
    #8
  9. Lillburt

    Lillburt

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    22
    And it is "only" about 80-100cm higher up the upper pond so it should be easy for the waterpump.
    Looking at this water pump
    Aquaforte-O-15000-Plus-Pond-Pump-Streampump-Filter-Pump-Power-Pump
    4000GPH if i divide it into 2 pipelines using y-connection.1 goes straight up to upper pond and 1 too the filter (
    Sunsun CPF-250 Pressure Pond Filter UVC 11W to 10000l )
     
    Lillburt, Dec 10, 2016
    #9
  10. Lillburt

    MitchM

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    6,143
    Likes Received:
    5,983
    Location:
    Water Valley, Alberta
    No worries - that's what Google translate is for.:)

    A pond with no fish like Meyer Jordan mentioned will not require a biofilter, and it sounds like you want to have a fairly clean pond.
    You could keep the pump placement where it is and tee off a small line towards the gravel area with some plants. I would not recommend a UV filter, that will only strip the pond of biodiversity, but that's my personal preference.
    You may want to consider making sure to incorporate a berm around the pond to prevent surface ground water from entering the pond. That will help keep the level of nutrients down that could feed nuisance algae.
    Are you planning on having a similar planting density as pictured on the blog site you posted?
     
    MitchM, Dec 10, 2016
    #10
  11. Lillburt

    MitchM

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    6,143
    Likes Received:
    5,983
    Location:
    Water Valley, Alberta
    With no fish and plenty of plants, I think you would be fine with minimal water circulation, and only size the pump depending on how active you want the stream and waterfalls.
     
    MitchM, Dec 10, 2016
    #11
    Mmathis likes this.
  12. Lillburt

    Lillburt

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    22
    [​IMG]
     
    Lillburt, Dec 10, 2016
    #12
  13. Lillburt

    Lillburt

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    22
    Yes...really "clean" pond with nice stones but of course plants around and some japanease grass in water.we have some big frogs around here and some birds stops for some water but nothing more that makes the water "dirty"

    The most importent is to have nice and clear water in waterfall and pond

    Will make a "wall" around so there will be no ground water entering the pond
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2016
    Lillburt, Dec 10, 2016
    #13
  14. Lillburt

    MitchM

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    6,143
    Likes Received:
    5,983
    Location:
    Water Valley, Alberta
    If the pond is too clean, then the plants won't do very well. With the gravel in the pond, organic matter will accumulate over time and you will need plants with a strong root system to absorb the nutrients.
    If you know that going in to the project, then you can have realistic expectations on what your pond will look like over the long term.
    Are you planning on fertilizing the plants if the water is too clean?
     
    MitchM, Dec 10, 2016
    #14
  15. Lillburt

    Lillburt

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    22
    i have no idea how to keep the balance between not to clean water.but not too clean water can still look clear right...really beginner here..
     
    Lillburt, Dec 10, 2016
    #15
  16. Lillburt

    MitchM

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    6,143
    Likes Received:
    5,983
    Location:
    Water Valley, Alberta
    I think you have the beginnings of a really nice water feature, and there a lot of people here who will be very happy to help you through the construction process.:)
    My opinion, and I'm sure others will contribute, is to start out with a nice layout as you already have, learn as you go along and add/subtract features or filters as you go.
    I suggest nothing more than a water pump feeding the stream and waterfalls for now.
    How cold and long is your winter?
    Will the plants you have in mind survive the winter?
    What is the frost line for your area? (how deep does the ground freeze?) That will help determine how deep your pond should be. For my area, it is 1.3 meters and my pond is iced over for 6 months.
     
    MitchM, Dec 10, 2016
    #16
  17. Lillburt

    Lillburt

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    22
    Thank you for all thoughts and help so far.Live on a smal island so the winters are not so cold.in 2009 i read about some reports of ground freeze domn 45cm and that was like a record.in middle of march we can have nice spring temperatures but still cold nights.i have to look up what plants can handle the temperatures here.then i will buy pond liner and 1 big waterpump 3000-4000GPH with 40mm pipe up to upper pond
     
    Lillburt, Dec 11, 2016
    #17
  18. Lillburt

    MitchM

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    6,143
    Likes Received:
    5,983
    Location:
    Water Valley, Alberta
    You're fortunate that you live so close to a major body of water. It really helps minimize severe temperature swings.
    Hopefully you have a large selection of plants to choose from.
     
    MitchM, Dec 12, 2016
    #18
    sissy likes this.
  19. Lillburt

    Lillburt

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    22
    Have now received my aquaforte Eco o 13000.going to use 50mm pipe and lets hope there will be enough movements in the stream and 2 waterfalls :)
     
    Lillburt, Dec 19, 2016
    #19
    MitchM likes this.
  20. Lillburt

    Lillburt

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    22
    Went after some stones a couple days ago.found some that i like.

    [​IMG]

    Did also dig alot deeper than it was before.

    [​IMG]
     
    Lillburt, Dec 22, 2016
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.