Hey everyone

Reaction score
I am new to the pond life, but have been into aquariums for many years. i am in the progress of digging a hole for my 1st pond. this pond will be meant for koi.

koidaddy

karps house of koi
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum. Learn as much as you can and dont make anything permenant untill you are sure its going to work with your setup. Also do not cut your liner when set up. just roll the extra up and concille with ground cover.

Reaction score
thanks for the greetings. my pond will be 8' x 20', and the depth will probably be 2' at one end and 4' at the other. i used a pond calculator and got a volume of ~3600 gallons.

as far as the filtration and pump i will use, i was going to post for some help from you guys(and gals) about that.

koidaddy

karps house of koi
Reaction score
Nice size.

You filter/pump choice is what is going to either make it easy for you are not.
This is where you want to invest a little more up front. You are going to want a mechanical system and a biological system. They can be acheived in the same system or as two seperate units. I am a DIY guy but they have systems out there that are plum it, plug it and go.
With a biological filter it will take a few weeks for the benneficial bacteria to get established so you might have to deal with green water at some point. This can be delt with by adding a UV clearifer/sterilizer. This should not be necessary after a couple of years of it running.
With koi I would try to incorporate some type of bottom drain to remove wast from the lowest part of the pond.
Avoid filters that sit on the bottom of the pond. Maintainance nightmare.

On pumps I personally have several pumps going so if one should malfunction you still have something to move some water. You want ot turn the water at least 1 1/2 times per hour. More is always better here, try to get 3x.