Hey from snowbelt of Pennsylvania

Reaction score
Love the forum! Lots of great information- Enjoying posts very much.

To quickly introduce myself, I'm from the Northwestern part of PA, often called the snowbelts in these parts when the lake effect snow begins to fall. This is my first year with an official outdoor koi pond. I have had a few koi indoors in aquariums and outdoors in stock tanks for a couple of years, with mostly good successes. This is my first year with an outdoor koi pond, and I have finally 'hooked' my husband on the hobby. He loves the koi almost as much as I do. My indoor aquariums have been relegated to fancy guppies-- one of my favorite 'easy' fish. I'm an educator, and my students love the guppies because of all the babies that come during the school months. Makes for a very excited classroom.

I joined the forum in the hopes of finding out more information about moving fish indoors for the winter.

Reaction score
Welcome angelmandi ! A Lot of members here move their Koi indoors so advice is forthcoming. I am making plans for bringing my fish in next year.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Hi angelmandi, welcome to the forum! Just wondering why you want to move them indoors. If your pond is at least 4-5 ft deep it should be no problem to keep them outside in the winter. I get up to 2 ft of snow on my little pond and the fish are fine. I just miss them a lot!

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
thBlackCatWelcome.gif
angelmandi

Reaction score
Well, in answer to the 'deepness' issue of the pond-- the pond is long, not necessarily deep. I think it's probably 3 1/2 feet deep. So, we are concerned that when we created the pond, it wasn't deep enough to overwinter them. Plus, we miss seeing them swimming around... :-( We would really like to bring them inside, if possible.

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country